Back Print

9:30PM UPDATE: Kirk Johnson wins reelection to Decorah City Council

Posted: Tue, Nov 5, 2019 9:28 PM

Tuesday was a good day for incumbents in Decorah.

Decorah City Council at-large member Kirk Johnson won reelection on Tuesday, beating challenger Gary Rustad 884 to 669, a margin of 57 percent to 43 percent.

Earlier Tuesday, incumbent Emily Neal easily won re-election to the Second Ward seat, beating Dan Kirkeby, 338 to 146.

Incumbent Decorah School Board members Brian Petersburg and John Hjelle were reelected, with Hjelle getting 925 votes and Petersburg getting 912 votes.  Challengers Alecia Bucksa (642 votes), Reginald Sampson (243 votes) and Kerry Johnson (228 votes) were unsuccessful.

Election totals for the rest of Winneshiek County are linked below.