Back Print

New Minowa Players announces cast for upcoming Murder Mystery

Posted: Thu, Aug 3, 2017 7:11 PM
Front row: Anna Townswick,Helen Johnson, Shai Shay, Kaj Spencer-Berg, Katie Stuelke. Second row: Tyler Irwin, Jacob Voigt, Indigo Fish, Amber Hussain, Emma Fretheim, Parker Fretheim, and Tyler Lubke. Third row: Steven Holkesvik, Ayla Carbonell, Garret Baumler, Jordyn Hussain, Hallie Johnson, and Charlie Baldwin. Fourth row: Aaron Kvale, Erik Johnson, and Hayden Carlson. Missing: Makinzie Monroe, and Will Yahr.

New Minowa Players proudly presents The Mystery of Edwin Drood by Rupert Holmes through special arrangement with Tams-Witmark August 10-13.

The Mystery of Edwin Drood is a comedic whodunit mystery giving the audience an opportunity to solve the murder by becoming detectives. The award winning musical is based on Charles Dickens' unfinished novel of the same name. It is set Chesterham, England, where young Edwin Drood has been murdered. But by whom? Dickens gave many clues in his novel about who the murder was, but due to his untimely death, he did not share the murderer. That's where the audience gets involved and they get to vote on who the real killer is.

All actors play two parts. Each plays an actor of the Music Hall Royale and also the character he or she plays in Music Hall's production of The Mystery of Edwin Drood. The cast includes 19 young performers. Chairwoman as Mayor Sapsea-Shai Shay, Alice Nutting as Edwin Drood/Dick Datchery- Helen Johnson, Deirdre Peregrine as Rosa Bud-Katie Stuelke, Angela Prysock as Princess Puffer- Ayla Carbonell, Janet Conover as Helena Landless- Jordyn Hussain, Beatrice-Indigo Fish, Wendy-Anna Townswick, Flo-Amber Hussain, Clive Paget as John Jasper-Parker Fretheim, Victor Grinstead as Neville Landless- Garret Baumler, Cedric Moncrieffe as Reverend Crisparkle- Erik Johnson, Phillip Bax as Bazzard- Tyler Irwin, Nick Cricker as Durdles- Kaj Spencer-Berg, Nick Cricker Jr. as The Deputy- Jacob Voigt, Horace: Hayden Carlson, James Throttle: Will Yahr, Members of the Royal Music Hall Cast: Emma Fretheim, Hallie Johnson, Makinzie Monroe.

Performances will be at 7:00 p.m. August 10-12 and at 2:00 p.m. on August 12 and 13 at the New Minowa Players Theatre. Tickets will be available at the Oneota Community Co-op in the near future. Contact New Minowa Players at (563) 382-5174 or newminowaplayers,org for more information. Sponsors for the show are: Decorah Bank & Trust, Family Table, Gallery of Tops, Modish, Pizza Ranch, RocketDog Books, Rockweiler Appliance & TV, Rubaiyat Restaurant, Seed Savers Exchange, and Singing Hammers Construction.