Back Print

EARL Public Transit names its Driver of the Year

Posted: Wed, Jun 7, 2017 2:11 PM
(Left to right): NEICAC's EARL Public Transit Driver Coordinator Monica Roderick, 2017 Driver of the Year David Loftsgard and NEICAC Transit Director Curt McNew. (Photo by Samuel Castro/EARL Public Transit)

EARL Public Transit, a program of Northeast Iowa Community Action, has named the recipient of its 2017 Public Transit Driver of the Year award.
Gunder resident David Loftsgard has driven for EARL for 24 years without an accident.  "David has given us 24 years of no accidents, taking great care of his riders, and consistently communicating with us with any questions or problems," said transportation director Curt McNew.

Loftsgard says he enjoys working with passengers and his colleagues. "It's a privilege to be able to interact with the riders and the other drivers," he said.  He also mentioned the family-friendly nature of working for Community Action as a reason he is so loyal to the job. "Not many jobs would put up with the family needs that I've had over the years. It is so family friendly here," he said.