Back Print

Winneshiek County elected officials will get 3 percent pay raises

Posted: Mon, Mar 13, 2017 4:19 PM

The Winneshiek County Board has approved a recommendation by the County Compensation Board that elected officials should receive 3.0 percent pay raises starting July 1st.

The Compensation Board met last December and reviewed results of a survey of comparable counties in Iowa which found they were offering 3.2 percent pay raises.  On a 4-2 vote, the Compensation Board recommended 3.0 percent pay raises in Winneshiek County.

Starting July 1st, County Sheriff Dan Marx will earn $79,563 a year; County Attorney Andy Van der Maaten will be paid $72,225; County Treasurer Wayne Walter will make $61,221, County Auditor Ben Steines will be paid $60,751, County Recorder Teresa Bockman will be paid $59,941 and county supervisors will be paid $32,525, with John Logsdon receiving an additional $860 for being County Board Chair.

The pay raises were approved by the county board as part of its vote on a 2017-2018 Winneshiek County budget.